About: Today’s Blue Skies Series

Notizbücher

 

I collect

words, sentences, quotes, sketches … handwritten in notebooks, plus there’s a similar collection in my iPhone. I keep thinking that some day or another I’ll be able to use them in a poem. There are times when I do not write a single poem for a long time, due to needs of my daily life that block my ability to write. Nevertheless, I jot down these notes, hoping that I’ll find quiet days soon on which I can transfer them into poetry. This summer, I was especially frustrated with the fact that I had accumulated abundant material but only succeeded in writing very little. I then realized that my notes were focused on recurred subjects: the transience of all being, love, age. So I decided to write a series of (very) short poems, which is inspired by Adrian Michael Green’s „Blinking Cursor Series“. All of a sudden the block was gone and I wrote the series down without much editing (which I hardly ever do … ), more or less the way you’ll find it here the following days. Some poems are in English, most of them are German; as always the choice of language depended on the feeling whether one or the other would be more suitable to express what I want to express.

—-

Ich sammele

handschriftliche Notizen in Notizbüchern, Wörter, einzelne Sätze, Skizzen … Dinge, die mir auffallen und von denen ich meine, dass ich sie später noch mal in einem Gedicht verwenden kann. Es gibt Phasen, in denen ich monatelang gar nichts schreibe, weil die Forderungen des täglichen Lebens meine Aufmerksamkeit ganz und gar beanspruchen. Trotzdem sammele ich weiter und hoffe auf bessere Zeiten. In diesem Sommer war ich besonders frustriert; ich sah mein reichhaltiges Material, aber von wenigen Ausnahmen abgesehen scheiterte jeder Versuch, etwas davon zu verarbeiten. Mit einem Mal stellte ich fest, dass alle meine Notizen um ähnliche Themen kreisten: die Vergänglichkeit des Lebens, Liebe, Alter … und beschloss, sie in eine Reihe (sehr) kurzer Gedichte zu verarbeiten. Erstaunlicherweise musste ich über die meisten gar nicht lange nachdenken, was sehr selten passiert. Normalerweise brauche ich viele Anläufe, bis ein Gedicht so ist, dass ich es rund finde. So entstand der „today’s blue skies“- Zyklus, den ich hier ab morgen nach und nach veröffentlichen werde, und der von Adrian Michael Green’s „Blinking Cursor Series“ inspiriert ist.

Comments? Comments!

